Another milestone in our school in the field of journalism in the Division of Pasay, the young writers and trainers of Padre Zamora Elementary School bagged numerous number of winnings and proclaimed over-all champion in the 38th Pasay City Press Conference and Contest on September 15-16, 2017 held at P. Burgos Elementary School.

          To ensure that our young writers are fully-equipped and prepared for the said event, our school principal, Ms. Eden E. Dioquino initiated and conducted orientation and various trainings for the young writers facilitated by the teacher-trainers few months before the contest.

          As a result of hardwork, dedication and love in journalism, PZES captured the moments during the awarding ceremonies. The winners in the Individual English Category are Kirstin Kate Oafallas, 7th place Editorial Writing, trainer: Mrs. Jeannie Garcines; Jarelle Mendoza, 9th place Feature Writing, trainer: Mr. Christopher Cantos; Mekylla Marie Villapana, 3rd place Copy Reading and Headlining, trainer: Mrs. Bebeth Agnes Necesito; Sharlene Faye Mapalo, 5th place Science & Health Writing, trainer: Ms. Ma. Heidi Manzano;  Marlowe Mackenzie Concepcion 9th place Sports Writing, trainer: Mr. Ivan Grulla; John Stephen Sampilingan 8th place Editorial Cartooning, trainer: Ms. Steffany Indico and Princess Mary Grace Basa 4th place Photo Journalism, trainer: Ms. Liezl Nepomuceno.

          In the Individual Filipino Category, the winners are: Carl Andrei Belano 2nd place Pangulong Tudling, trainer: Mrs. Ledena Ilao; Jacqui Danielle De Gueno 3rd place Pagsulat ng Agham at Kalusugan, trainer: Ms. Ma. Heidi Manzano; Anne Kathleen Ranido 2nd place Pagwawasto at Paguulo, trainer: Mrs. Gladys Santiago; Sharmel Lomigo 2nd place Balitang Isports trainer: Mrs. Catalina Mirana; Nami Chelsea Ricana, 10th place Larawang Tudling trainer: Mr. Alfred Peter Dela Cruz and Angelica Palisoc 8th place Pagkuha ng Larawan trainer: Ms. Liezel Nepomuceno.

          Meanwhile in Radio Broadcasting, Anchor Vaughn Edhrey Japson got 3rd place Best Anchor. The Cluster 2 Radio Broadcasting group also won 3rd place in Best Infomercial and Best Technical Application.

          Truly a pride and honor for our school, in uplifting the skills of PZES young writers and sustaining higher achievements, in carrying the school's battlecry, “Batang Zamora, Laging Nangunguna!” (ni Mr. Ivan Grulla)

PZES Commemorated Buwan ng Wika 2017

          Padre Zamora Elementary School marked August 2017 for the commemoration of annual National Language Month (Buwan ng Wikang Pambansa) with the theme “Filipino: Wikang Mapagbago, ” spearheaded by Ms. Eden E. Dioquino, school principal with Joanna J. Soligam and Gladys P. Santiago, school Filipino coordinators.

          Buwan ng Wika is the time to remind the pupils of the importance of Filipino language. To make them understand why Filipino language is the light and strength of the nation, the school featured month-long activities like Essay Writing Contest, Poster Making, Slogan, Story Telling, Quiz Bee, Readers’ Theater and Search for Lakan and Lakambini.

          Numerous learners in different grade level actively participated the activities. The winners were awarded with certificates, medals, sash and trophies.

          Smart awardees in Essay Writing Contest Grade Four: 1st place - John Wayne C. Alano (IV-Aquino), 2nd place - Ayesha Ehris A. Salazar (IV-Aguinaldo), and 3rd place - Cassandra Laureen Uy (IV-Silang); Grade Five: 1st place - Kian Archel E. Magadia (V-Aries), 2nd  place - Jacqui Danielle De Gueño (V-Libra), and 3rd place - Chelsea Dominique De Castro (V-Aries); and Grade Six: 1st place - Anne Kathleen B. Ranido (VI-Diamond), 2nd  place - Carl Andrei M. Belano (VI-Diamond), and 3rd  place - Ma. Beatrix Louise Daniel V. Dela Cruz (VI-Diamond).

          Creative winners in Poster Making Grade Four: 1st place - Kate Pequeras (IV-Aquino), 2nd place - Marc Wayne L. Clemente (IV-Aguinaldo), and 3rd place - Rick Austine C. Conte (IV-Lapu Lapu); Grade Five: 1st place - Karl Cristian Guilaran (V-Taurus), 2nd place - Joanna May Pajares (V-Aries), and  3rd place - Javerick Lara (V-Aries); and Grade Six : 1st  place - Ernez Laurence S. Bayangos (VI-Diamond).

          Sharp-witted winners in Slogan Grade Four: 1st place - Ritchel Lorica (IV-Aguinaldo), 2nd  place - Pauleen Shane Arellano (IV-Silang), and 3rd place - Clarence S. Onofre (IV-Aquino); Grade Five: 1st place - Kimberly Recato (V-Pisces), 2nd  place - Zandra Mae B. Garcia (V-Aries), and  3rd place - Geollana T. Eleazar (V-Aries); and Grade Six: 1st place - Anne Kathleen B. Ranido (VI-Diamond), 2ndplace - Riona M. Gigante (VI-Diamond), and 3rd place - Mikhail S. Abedo (VI-Diamond).

          The Grade Three pupils joined the Story Telling Contest. The winners were: Christine Reeze (III-Bakawan), 1st place; Natalie Nicole B. Morata (III-Kamagong), 2nd place; and Jolea E. Faulmino (III-Acacia), 3rd place.

          Another was the Quiz Bee, it was a team contest. The Grade Four winners were: Julie Mae M. Dimla & Ayesha Ehris A. Salazar (IV-Aguinaldo), 1st place; Norvin C. Dulva Jr. & Franco Alfonso S. Caponpon (IV-Aquino), 2nd place; and Elisha May Vizcarra & Czely C. Francisco (IV-Jacinto), 3rd place. And for Grade Five winners: Maria Antonia T. Palallos & Kyle Cyrus F. Nogar (V-Leo), 1st place; Kian Archel E. Magadia & John Michael T. Rodolfo (V-Aries), 2nd place; and Althea D. Rayos & Gemma Rose P. Cepe (V-Libra).

          And the group contest was the Reader’s Theater for Grades Five and Six. For Grade Five, section Aries got the first place; section Aquarius won second place; and section Capricorn is in the third place. And for Grade Six winners: section Diamond, first place; section Emerald, second place; and section Jade, third place.

          The program highlighted the Search for Lakan at Lakambini. Grades One and Two joined the search. For Lakan winners, Lakan 2017 was Kazki Drei P. Bautista, II-St. John; 1st runner up - Xian Viel V. Tolentino, I-ADelfa; and 2nd runner up - Rod Cyril S. Dimatera, I-Daisy. While the Lakambini winners were: Lakambini 2017 was Mary Grace B. Millan, II-St. Jude; 1st runner up - Alexie Kristine Manahan, II-St. John; and 2nd runner up - Raniella Colene P. Padul, I-Adelfa.

          Buwan ng Wika binds Zamoranians together with the sense of nationalism through using Filipino as our national language.